A weekend wallpaper caper

I have to admit, I haven’t been much of a wallpaper lover in recent years. I got caught up in the ease and convenience of painting (who doesn’t love to change the entire look of a room in a couple hours?), and looked down my paint-splattered nose at the work wallpapering takes! But I recently became enthralled with wallpaper I found online from a UK retailer and knew that a weekend of paste, sweat and tears was coming my way.

I have to preface this post with huge thank you to my brother-in-law, Richard, who was really the hero behind this little powder room makeover. He’s an experienced wallpaper guru, and definitely proved his prowess last weekend, particularly with a birch tree motif that was not a beginner-level matching job! And so, Sir Richard…I am eternally grateful :).

Without further ado, I give you my ethereal birch tree powder room – a thing of wood nymphs, forest fairies and nature at its best.

I like using rustic elements like wire baskets to keep things organized in the space.

I like using rustic elements like wire baskets to keep things organized in the space.

I continued the rustic theme with a hook and shelf combo that holds extra towels and some decorative plants in galvanized planters.

I continued the rustic theme with a hook and shelf combo that holds extra towels and some decorative plants in galvanized planters.

A lucky find! Birch bark candle by Homesense.

A lucky find! Birch bark candle by Homesense.

I opted for basic black and white prints for artwork, mounted in white, matted frames. Nature prints fit the space.

I opted for basic black and white prints for artwork, mounted in white, matted frames. Nature prints fit the space.

Another small DIY project - Dollarstore frame and printed-at-home b&w flower prints.

Another small DIY project – Dollarstore frame and printed-at-home black & white flower prints.

7 thoughts on “A weekend wallpaper caper

  1. Wow! Transformed into a woodland fantasy is right. I saw this bathroom when you first moved in, and I can scarcely believe it’s the same place. I worked in a paint and wallpaper store for six years and welcome the return of wallpaper. You’ve inspired me to give my foyer a new face!

  2. That wallpaper is gorgeous!!! I’ve always wanted to use something like that in a foyer – but a powder room may be even more perfect! Found you via Blog Podium – See you on Saturday!

Leave a comment