Mirror, mirror…

I would say ‘on the wall’ but these days mirrors are everywhere BUT on the wall. And for good reason. Reflective surfaces, whether on furniture or accessories, can be sleek and modern or charming and feminine, depending on how they are displayed. I’ve been adding them into my own decor sparingly, and I’m pleased with how they play off my existing dark wood pieces. They seem to add light and sparkle wherever they live. Here are some inspiration pieces (plus a few of my own new additions!) to give you some food for design thought.

This mirrored chest would look equally chic as a sideboard in a dining room or a dresser in a bedroom.

This mirrored chest would look equally chic as a sideboard in a dining room or a dresser in a bedroom.

Pulaski-mirrored-end-table

I just love this feminine side table! Imagine it in a pretty bedroom or bath, or as the stylish piece next to the sofa to tone down a masculine room.

20130831_232828_resized

A mirrored jewellery box, patterned in a lovely lavender damask, makes a great addition to my bedroom! It holds loads of baubles, plus radiates light when the morning sun hits it. Homesense has a delightful selection of them at reasonable prices.

20130831_233000_resized

This was a surprising find for me! Meant to be a bathroom canister, this delicate glass piece with aluminum lid is a perfect hiding spot for my favourite bracelets. And for $7.99 at Homesense, it didn’t break the bank!

20130831_233040_resized

I couldn’t resist this adorable companion to the lavender damask piece – its perfect proportions and velvet lining are useful for storing everything from jewellery to pocket change. And at only $4.99, why not?

One thought on “Mirror, mirror…

Leave a Reply

